pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: IN THE DAYS OF RAIN
By: Rebecca Stott
Format: Paperback

List price: £9.99
Our price: £7.29
Discount:
27% off
You save: £2.70
ISBN 10: 0008209197
ISBN 13: 9780008209193
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-2 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 856 available
Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
Pub. date: 25 January, 2018
Pages: 400
Description: In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult.
Synopsis: In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult. `At university when I made new friends and confidantes, I couldn't explain how I'd become a teenage mother, or shoplifted books for years, or why I was afraid of the dark and had a compulsion to rescue people, without explaining about the Brethren or the God they made for us, and the Rapture they told us was coming. But then I couldn't really begin to talk about the Brethren without explaining about my father...' As Rebecca Stott's father lay dying he begged her to help him write the memoir he had been struggling with for years. He wanted to tell the story of their family, who, for generations had all been members of a fundamentalist Christian sect. Yet, each time he reached a certain point, he became tangled in a thicket of painful memories and could not go on. The sect were a closed community who believed the world is ruled by Satan: non-sect books were banned, women were made to wear headscarves and those who disobeyed the rules were punished. Rebecca was born into the sect, yet, as an intelligent, inquiring child she was always asking dangerous questions. She would discover that her father, an influential preacher, had been asking them too, and that the fault-line between faith and doubt had almost engulfed him. In In the Days of Rain Rebecca gathers the broken threads of her father's story, and her own, and follows him into the thicket to tell of her family's experiences within the sect, and the decades-long aftermath of their breaking away.
Publication: UK
Imprint: Fourth Estate Ltd
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:
DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE
DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE (HB)
DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE (PB)
DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE (PB)
DARWIN'S GHOSTS
DARWIN'S GHOSTS (PB)
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING (HB)
ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING (PB)
GHOSTWALK
GHOSTWALK (PB)
GHOSTWALK (PB)
GRAMMAR AND WRITING (PB)
IN THE DAYS OF RAIN
IN THE DAYS OF RAIN
IN THE DAYS OF RAIN (HB)
IRON ROOM (PB)
MAKING YOUR CASE: A PRACTICAL GUIDE TO ESSAY WRITING (PB)
OYSTER
OYSTER (PB)
SPEAKING YOUR MIND (PB)
TENNYSON
TENNYSON
TENNYSON
TENNYSON (HB)
TENNYSON (PB)
THE CORAL THIEF (HB)
THE CORAL THIEF (HB)
THE CORAL THIEF (PB)
THE CORAL THIEF (PB)
THE FABRICATION OF THE LATE VICTORIAN FEMME FATALE
THE FABRICATION OF THE LATE VICTORIAN FEMME FATALE (HB)
THE FABRICATION OF THE LATE VICTORIAN FEMME FATALE (PB)
THEATRES OF GLASS (HB)
VALUEPACK: GRAMMAR & WRITING & MAKING YOUR CASE: A PRACTICAL GUIDE TO ESSAY WRITING (PB)
WRITING WITH STYLE (PB)

CUSTOMERS WHO PURCHASED THIS ITEM ALSO BOUGHT
Roots (Paperback)
By: Alex Haley
more details
To Kill A Mockingbird (Paperback)
By: Harper Lee
more details
The Godfather (Paperback)
By: Mario Puzo
more details
TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
Fabulous Finn (Hardback)
By: Dave Wardell, Lynne Barrett-Lee
Quercus Publishing
Our Price : £12.40
more details
When Breath Becomes Air (Paperback)
By: Paul Kalanithi
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £6.56
more details
Persepolis I & II (Paperback)
By: Marjane Satrapi
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £7.29
more details
The Old Man and the Sand Eel (Hardback)
By: Will Millard
Penguin Books Ltd
Our Price : £10.94
more details
How to Stay Alive (Hardback)
By: Bear Grylls, Bear Grylls
Transworld Publishers Ltd
Our Price : £14.60
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 LANGUAGE, LITERATURE AND BIOGRAPHY
 biography & autobiography


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket