pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register

Baileys Women's Prize For Fiction

Set up to celebrate and promote international fiction by women throughout the world to the widest range of readers possible, the Women's Prize for Fiction is awarded for the best novel of the year written by a woman. Any woman writing in English - whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or subject matter - is eligible.

2017 Shortlist (Winner: Naomi Alderman for ‘The Power’)
2017 Longlist
2016 Shortlist (Winner: Lisa MCinerney for ‘The Glorious Heresies’)

Berkshire Book Award

The Berkshire Book Award was launched in 2004 and has been tremendously successful and popular with young people aged 11-14 who live or go to school in Berkshire. The Award is unique in the county and differs from other Award schemes through its involvement of young readers in both nominating the titles and selecting the winner. Previous winners have included Jeff Kinney, Robert Muchamore and Anthony Horowitz.

2018 Shortlist

2018 Longlist Nominations

2017 Shortlist
2017 Longlist
2016 Shortlist
(Winner: Jeff Kinney (The Long Haul )

The Blue Peter Book Awards

The Blue Peter Book Awards have been celebrating the best authors, the most creative illustrators and the greatest reads for children since 2000. There are three categories of awards. The favourite book in the three categories is voted Blue Peter Book of the Year.

Best Book With Facts
2017 Shortlist
2016 Winner Best Book With Facts The Epic book of Epicness
2016 Shortlist
2015 Shortlist
2014 Shortlist

CILIP Carnegie & Kate Greenaway Children's Awards

The Carnegie Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book for children and young people.

Carnegie 2018 Longlist

Carnegie 2018 Nominations

Carnegie 2017 Shortlist

(Winner: Ruth Sepetys for ‘Salt to the Sea’)

Carnegie 2017 Longlist

Carnegie Shortlist 2016
(Winner: Sarah Crossan for ‘One’)

The Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.

Concorde Book Award

The Concorde Book Award was started by a group of librarians from South Gloucestershire schools. It is now in its ninth successful year and the award is still growing! The idea behind the scheme was firstly to encourage students to join reading groups, which in itself provides an enriching experience, but also to provide an award that takes account of the students’ views, as distinct from the many children’s book awards which are judged solely by adults.

2018 Shortlist

(2017 Winner:Robin Talley for Lies We Tell Ourselves )

2016 Shortlist

Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards reward books of the year by writers based in the UK and Ireland. There are five categories of prize: Novel, First Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book. An overall winner of the Book of the Year is selected from the five winners.

Dudley Teen Book Award

The Dudley Teen Book awards take place annually and the winner is voted for by the participating schools’ students.

2017 Shortlist

2016 Shortlist (Winner: Peter Bunzl for COGHEART)

English 4-11 Picture Book Awards

Established in 1995, the awards are presented by the English Association to the best children's picture books of the year . The winning books are chosen by the editorial board of English 4-11, the journal for primary teachers published by the English Association and the United Kingdom Literacy Association, from a shortlist selected by a panel of teachers and Primary specialists

2016 Shortlist


The Excelsior Award is the only nationwide book award for graphic novels and manga - where kids aged 11-16 decide the winner by rating each book as they read it. Eight graphic novels are selected for the shortlist and it now attracts over two hundred and fifty schools and public libraries from all over the UK and Ireland!

2017 Shortlist

GDST Book Award

The Girls' Day School Trust Book Award

The GDST Book Award was set up in 2015 by librarians working in the 20+ GDST schools across England & Wales. Each school nominates a book suitable for Year 8 readers that has already been shortlisted for a prize locally or nationally, this ensures our pupils are reading The Best of the Best! Pupils vote on a shortlist of 5 books and the author is invited to a participating school to receive their award.

2017 Shortlist

Oxfordshire Book Awards

The Oxfordshire Book Awards have been running since 2008. They are special because the awards are voted for entirely by children, who read and nominate their favourite books. Children throughout Oxfordshire can take part either at participating primary and secondary schools, or through any public library

2017 Winner Secondary A Library of Lemons
2017 Winner Primary The Person Controller
2017 Winner Picture Book Nibbles: The Book Monster

The Man Booker International Prize

The Man Booker International Prize can be won by a living author of any nationality, providing that his or her work is available in English. It is awarded every second year for a body of work that has contributed to an achievement in fiction on the world stage.

2017 Winner: David Grossman

2013 Winner: Lydia Davis

2011 Winner: Philip Roth

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction aims to reward the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.

The Children’s Book Award

The Children’s Book Award is the only UK Natiional book award voted for entirely by children. Thanks to the support of the publishers, over 1,000 new books are donated to be read and reviewed by our Testing Groups across the country every year, with over 150,000 total votes being cast in the process.

(Winner 2017 An Eagle in the Snow)

YA Book Prize 2016

The YA Book Prize is awarded annually to the best young adult book written by an author living in the UK or Ireland. Previous winners of the prize are Louise O'Neill's Only Ever Yours (2015) and Sarah Crossan's One (2016).

2017 Winner Orangeboy

2016 Shortlist

Wessex Amazing Book Award

The Wessex Amazing Book Award has been set up by a group of librarians working in Wessex schools. The motivation behind the award was to give pupils a voice in choosing the books they love for the award. Each participating school puts one title onto the longlist, which is then cut down to a shortlist of 5. The pupils then discuss the shortlist and select their winner at an event in the spring.

2017 Shortlist

2017 Longlist


In Stock:
List Price:
Our Price:

more details
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0