pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: GLOBAL ECONOMIC HISTORY: A VERY SHORT INTRODUCTION
By: Robert C. Allen
Format: Paperback

List price: £7.99
Our price: £5.59
Discount:
30% off
You save: £2.40
ISBN 10: 0199596654
ISBN 13: 9780199596652
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1-2 days.
 Delivery rates
Stock: Currently 114 available
Publisher: OXFORD UNIVERSITY PRESS
Pub. date: 15 September, 2011
Series: Very Short Introductions
Pages: 192
Description: The gap between the rich and the poor can be vast. Robert C. Allen considers the main factors that contribute to this gap, looking at the interconnections between economic growth, culture, technology, and income distribution. Exploring the historical processes that have created the unequal world of today, he takes a global look at wealth worldwide.
Synopsis: Why are some countries rich and others poor? In 1500, the income differences were small, but they have grown dramatically since Columbus reached America. Since then, the interplay between geography, globalization, technological change, and economic policy has determined the wealth and poverty of nations. The industrial revolution was Britain's path breaking response to the challenge of globalization. Western Europe and North America joined Britain to form a club of rich nations by pursuing four polices-creating a national market by abolishing internal tariffs and investing in transportation, erecting an external tariff to protect their fledgling industries from British competition, banks to stabilize the currency and mobilize domestic savings for investment, and mass education to prepare people for industrial work. Together these countries pioneered new technologies that have made them ever richer. Before the Industrial Revolution, most of the world's manufacturing was done in Asia, but industries from Casablanca to Canton were destroyed by western competition in the nineteenth century, and Asia was transformed into 'underdeveloped countries' specializing in agriculture.The spread of economic development has been slow since modern technology was invented to fit the needs of rich countries and is ill adapted to the economic and geographical conditions of poor countries. A few countries - Japan, Soviet Russia, South Korea, Taiwan, and perhaps China - have, nonetheless, caught up with the West through creative responses to the technological challenge and with Big Push industrialization that has achieved rapid growth through investment coordination. Whether other countries can emulate the success of East Asia is a challenge for the future. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Illustrations: 15 black and white line drawings
Publication: UK
Imprint: Oxford University Press
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:
CHANNELS OF DISCOURSE, REASSEMBLED
CHANNELS OF DISCOURSE, REASSEMBLED
CHANNELS OF DISCOURSE, REASSEMBLED
CHANNELS OF DISCOURSE, REASSEMBLED
CHANNELS OF DISCOURSE, REASSEMBLED
CHANNELS OF DISCOURSE, REASSEMBLED
CHANNELS OF DISCOURSE, REASSEMBLED (HB)
CHANNELS OF DISCOURSE, REASSEMBLED (HB)
CHANNELS OF DISCOURSE, REASSEMBLED (PB)
CHANNELS OF DISCOURSE, REASSEMBLED (PB)
EMT-INTERMEDIATE: PEARLS OF WISDOM (PB)
ENCLOSURE AND THE YEOMAN (HB)
FARM TO FACTORY (PB)
GEL ELECTROPHORESIS OF PROTEINS AND NUCLEIC ACIDS (HB)
GOING TO THE MOVIES
GOING TO THE MOVIES (HB)
GOING TO THE MOVIES (PB)
HORRIBLE PRETTINESS (HB)
LIVING STANDARDS IN THE PAST (HB)
SPEAKING OF SOAP OPERAS (HB)
SPEAKING OF SOAP OPERAS (PB)
THE BRITISH INDUSTRIAL REVOLUTION IN GLOBAL PERSPECTIVE
THE BRITISH INDUSTRIAL REVOLUTION IN GLOBAL PERSPECTIVE (HB)
THE BRITISH INDUSTRIAL REVOLUTION IN GLOBAL PERSPECTIVE (PB)
THE INDUSTRIAL REVOLUTION: A VERY SHORT INTRODUCTION (PB)
THE TELEVISION STUDIES READER (HB)
THE TELEVISION STUDIES READER (PB)
TO BE CONTINUED...
TO BE CONTINUED...
TO BE CONTINUED...
TO BE CONTINUED...
TO BE CONTINUED...
TO BE CONTINUED... (HB)
TO BE CONTINUED... (PB)
TV STUDIES BUNDLE (PB)

CUSTOMERS WHO PURCHASED THIS ITEM ALSO BOUGHT
The Penguin History of Economics (Paperback)
By: Professor Roger E. Backhouse
more details
The Accidental Theorist (Paperback)
By: Paul Krugman
more details
Film: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
By: Michael Wood
more details
TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
Guns, Germs And Steel (Paperback)
By: Jared Diamond
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £8.02
more details
Till Time's Last Sand (Hardback)
By: David Kynaston
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Our Price : £24.50
more details
Inglorious Empire (Hardback)
By: Shashi Tharoor
C Hurst & Co Publishers Ltd
Our Price : £17.00
more details
The General Theory of Employment, Interest and Money (Paperback)
By: John Maynard Keynes, Mark G. Spencer, Tom Griffith
Wordsworth Editions Ltd
Our Price : £2.91
more details
Untitled Book (Hardback)
By: Gordon Brown
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £18.25
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 HUMANITIES
 history
 history of specific subjects
 economic history


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket