pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone pickabook books with huge discounts for everyone
     
Email: Subscribe to news & offers:
Need assistance? Log In/Register


Item Details
Title: GLOBAL CATASTROPHIC RISKS
By: Nick Bostrom (Editor), Milan M. Cirkovic
Format: Hardback

List price: £36.99


We believe that this item is permanently unavailable, and so we cannot source it.

ISBN 10: 0198570503
ISBN 13: 9780198570509
Stock: Currently 100 available
Publisher: OXFORD UNIVERSITY PRESS
Pub. date: 3 July, 2008
Pages: 576
Description: A Global Catastrophic Risk is a risk that has the potential to inflict serious damage to human well-being on a global scale. This book focuses on Global Catastrophic Risks arising from natural catastrophes, nuclear war, terrorism, biological weapons, totalitarianism, advanced nanotechnology, artificial intelligence, and social collapse.
Synopsis: A global catastrophic risk is one with the potential to wreak death and destruction on a global scale. In human history, wars and plagues have done so on more than one occasion, and misguided ideologies and totalitarian regimes have darkened an entire era or a region. Advances in technology are adding dangers of a new kind. It could happen again. In Global Catastrophic Risks 25 leading experts look at the gravest risks facing humanity in the 21st century, including natural catastrophes, nuclear war, terrorism, global warming, biological weapons, totalitarianism, advanced nanotechnology, general artificial intelligence, and social collapse. The book also addresses over-arching issues - policy responses and methods for predicting and managing catastrophes. This is invaluable reading for anyone interested in the big issues of our time; for students focusing on science, society, technology, and public policy; and for academics, policy-makers, and professionals working in these acutely important fields.
Illustrations: tables and figures
Publication: UK
Imprint: Oxford University Press
Returns: Returnable
Some other items by this author:

TOP SELLERS IN THIS CATEGORY
Ghosts of the Tsunami (Paperback)
By: Richard Lloyd Parry
Vintage Publishing
Our Price : £10.21
more details
The Sociological Imagination (Paperback)
By: C. Wright Mills
Oxford University Press Inc
Our Price : £9.48
more details
Global Catastrophic Risks (Paperback)
By: Nick Bostrom (Editor), Milan M. Cirkovic (Editor)
Oxford University Press
Our Price : £13.12
more details
The Impact of Plague in Tudor and Stuart England (Paperback)
By: Paul Slack
Oxford University Press
Our Price : £49.00
more details
New State Spaces (Hardback)
By: Neil Brenner
Oxford University Press
Our Price : £129.06
more details
BROWSE FOR BOOKS IN RELATED CATEGORIES
 SOCIAL SCIENCES
 sociology, social studies
 social issues
 social impact of disasters


Information provided by www.pickabook.co.uk
SHOPPING BASKET
  
Your basket is empty
  Total Items: 0
 

Up to 35% off new titles
The Fates Divide
By: VERONICA ROTH
Fans of Star Wars, Divergent and Carve the Mark will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth''s final instalment in her stunning science-fiction fantasy series.
add to basket

30% off Oxford University Press
Oxford School Dictionary
By: OXFORD DICTIONARIES
This new edition of the bestselling Oxford School Dictionary (paperback) has contemporary, comprehensive vocabulary coverage, example sentences, and fascinating word origins. The dictionary supports students with their language and spelling skills, and helps with the transition from primary to secondary.
add to basket

New Title
Great Telephone Mix-Up
By: SALLY NICHOLLS
A charming tale of community, making new connections and lending a helping hand, from a successful author and illustrator pairing.
add to basket

New Title
Shatter Me
By: TAHEREH MAFI
I''m envious. I couldn''t put it down." (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of Fallen) Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series which has been published in over 30 languages around the world.
add to basket

Up to 35% off New Titles
Mariella, Queen of the Skies
By: EOIN COLFER
Super-smart inventor Mariella doesn''t have time for sleep in this funny and life-affirming gem from award-winning beloved author Eoin Colfer, featuring colour illustrations from rising star Katy Halford.
add to basket

New Title
Rebound
By: KWAME ALEXANDER
From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
add to basket


New Title
The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space
By: NEAL LAYTON
What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.
add to basket

New Title
PramBusters!
By: ANNE FINE
When the rain threatens to ruin the fun at summer camp, Malik are tasked with some inventing... A funny and charming Little Gem from national treasure Anne Fine, with beautiful artwork by illustration star Vicki Gausden - Anne''s collaborator on Out for the Count. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 5+
add to basket